Smart Outdoor Lighting

Best Permanent Outdoor Lights: DIY Kits vs. Pro Systems

Updated

Permanent outdoor lights mount once under the eaves and stay up all year: holiday colors in December, warm white the rest of the time. You can buy a DIY kit for a few hundred dollars or have a dealer install a color-matched track system for several thousand.

This page compares 11 DIY kits and 4 professionally installed systems on what actually differs between them: price per foot, light spacing, white range, weather rating, smart home support and warranty. Every figure comes from the maker's own product, pricing or warranty page, or from the product's Amazon listing, checked on October 3, 2026. We have not installed or tested these lights ourselves. If you buy through our Amazon links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we research.

Two-story house at dusk with a continuous row of warm white permanent lights under the eaves
Permanent lights in everyday warm white.

Quick Picks

DIY Permanent Light Kits Compared

Price per foot uses the maker's own store price on October 3, 2026, for the length shown. Prices change and Amazon prices can differ, so check the current price before you buy. How we built this comparison.

KitMaker priceLengthsLightsWhite rangeWeather ratingSmart homeCutting / extendingWarranty
Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro$3.20/ft$639.99 for 200 ft100 or 200 ft84 per 200 ft, 40 lm each1000K–10000KIP68 lights, IP67 control boxMatter, Alexa, GoogleCut and extend3 yearsCheck Price on Amazon
Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism$3.45/ft$689.99 for 200 ft150 or 200 ft72 per 200 ft1000K–10000KIP68 lights, outdoor-rated adapterMatter, Alexa, GoogleCut, splice and extend3 yearsCheck Price on Amazon
Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro$3.20/ft$479.99 for 150 ft100, 150 or 200 ft120 per 200 ft, 50 lm each2700K–6500KIP67 lights, IP65 control box, adapter indoor onlyMatter, Alexa, GoogleCut and extend, max 200 ft3 yearsCheck Price on Amazon
Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2$2.80/ft$279.99 for 100 ft50, 100 or 150 ft72 per 100 ft, 40 lm whiteRGBIC plus whiteIP67 lights, IP65 control boxAlexa, Google (Matter per Govee's site only)Not cuttable; up to 9 segments3 yearsCheck Price on Amazon
eufy Permanent Outdoor Lights E22$4.00/ft$199.99 for 50 ft50 or 100 ft (combinable)60 per 100 ft, up to 90 lm1500K–9000KIP65 lights and controller, IP67 adaptereufy Life app, Alexa, GoogleUp to 9 strings and 2 extension cablesNot statedCheck Price on Amazon
eufy Permanent Outdoor Lights S4Not published100, 150 or 200 ft144 per 200 ft (14.5 in spacing)1500K–9000KIP67Matter (Apple Home, Google, Alexa)Cut; max 200 ft strip, 232 ft with extensionNot statedCheck Price on Amazon
Nanoleaf Matter Permanent Outdoor Lights$4.08/ft$199.99 for 49 ftModular 16 ft strings, up to 147 ft10 per 16.4 ft (17.3 in spacing), 50 lm2200K–6500KIP67 pucks and controller, IP65 connectorsMatter, Apple Home, Alexa, Google, SmartThingsTrim and splice2 yearsCheck Price on Amazon
Philips Hue Festavia Permanent Outdoor Lights$4.00/ft$599.99 for 150 ft90 or 150 ft48 per 90 ft, 55 lm eachWhite and color ambianceIP67 (Amazon) / IP65 (Philips Hue)Hue Bridge requiredCut and extend2 yearsCheck Price on Amazon
LIFX Everyday Permanent Outdoor Lights$1.25/ft$250 for 200 ft200 ftUp to 6,000 lm total2700K–6500KIP65 (LIFX)Matter, Alexa, Google, Apple HomeCut to fitNot statedCheck Price on Amazon
Lumary Permanent Outdoor Lights MaxNot published13, 53, 105 or 158 ft40 per 53 ft2200K–6500KIP67Lumary app, Alexa, Google, remote53/105 ft take one 13 ft extension; 158 ft noneNot statedCheck Price on Amazon
Enbrighten Eternity Permanent Outdoor Lights$2.50/ft$249.99 for 100 ft100 or 150 ft72 per 100 ftRGBWIC with adjustable whiteWeatherproof (no IP figure)Enbrighten app (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi)Link up to 200 ft or cutNot statedCheck Price on Amazon
Bar chart of maker's price per foot on October 3, 2026: LIFX Everyday 200 ft $1.25, Enbrighten Eternity 100 ft $2.50, Govee Permanent Lights 2 100 ft $2.80, Govee Pro 150 ft $3.20, Govee 2 Pro 200 ft $3.20, Govee Prism 200 ft $3.45, eufy E22 50 ft $4.00, Philips Hue Festavia 150 ft $4.00, Nanoleaf 49 ft $4.08. Pro-installed systems publish $18 to $35 per foot.

Professionally Installed Systems

These are sold and installed through dealers. The prices are what each company publishes on its own site; your quote depends on the dealer, the roofline and the controller. None of them is sold on Amazon, and we earn nothing from them.

SystemHow it's soldPublished priceWarrantyTrackControlIP rating
JellyFishCorporate locations and authorized dealersAbout $25–35 per ft, plus a $650–850 controller (corporate pricing; dealers set their own)5 years parts, 1 year laborColor-matched to your soffitWi-Fi app, Alexa, Google, Control4, Nice-Elan; up to 300 ft per controllerNot published
TrimlightIndependent dealers only$18–35 per ft typical, set by the dealerLifetime product warranty (standard residential); labor at least 1 year from the dealer50+ channel colors plus custom matchingTrimlight Edge app; Alexa and Google for basic controlNot published
Gemstone LightsAuthorized dealers onlyQuote only, no published priceLifetime on lights, 10 years on parts (registration within 30 days)Matched from 150+ soffit and fascia colorsGemstone Hub app (2.4 and 5 GHz); Alexa and Google on/offIP67
OeloDealers, plus DIY kits on its own site100 ft: $2,300–2,394 DIY or $3,750 installed; 200 ft: $3,884–4,082 DIY or $6,534 installed7 years with an authorized dealer install, 5 years DIY10 standard channel colors, custom powder coat, paintableOelo Evolution app; Alexa, Google, Control4, URC, Elan, Josh.aiIP68

Sources: jellyfishlighting.com/resources/pricing, trimlight.com/about/pricing, gemstonelights.com/warranty, oelo.com/oelo-lights-cost, checked October 3, 2026.

DIY or Professional: What the Difference Costs

Take a 150 ft roofline. The DIY kits we could price work out to $2.50 to $4.10 per foot on the maker's store, so roughly $375 to $615 for the lights, plus a weekend on a ladder. LIFX Everyday is the outlier at $1.25 per foot.

The same 150 ft from JellyFish's published corporate pricing comes to about $3,750 to $5,250 for the lights plus $650 to $850 for the controller. Trimlight's typical dealer range is $2,700 to $5,250. Oelo publishes $3,750 installed for 100 ft and $6,534 for 200 ft.

The extra money buys three things a DIY kit does not have:

  • A track matched to your trim. Pro systems mount in an aluminum or acrylic channel color-matched to the soffit or fascia, so the lights are close to invisible by day. DIY kits clip or stick on individually.
  • Longer warranties. Trimlight offers a lifetime product warranty on standard residential installs and Gemstone a lifetime warranty on the lights. The DIY kits here offer 2 or 3 years where a term is stated at all.
  • Someone else on the ladder, and someone to call when a section fails.

If you are handy, your roofline is simple and you want to test the idea before committing thousands, start with a DIY kit. If the house has two stories, complex gables or an HOA that cares how it looks in daylight, get at least one dealer quote to compare.

The DIY Kits in Detail

Toughest weather ratings

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro

The 2 Pro is Govee's newest permanent light. Each light has two color zones, and the white range runs from 1000K to 10000K, wider than the 2700K–6500K of the older Pro. Govee rates the lights IP68 and the control box IP67, the highest pair of ratings among the DIY kits here.

It mounts with a reusable snap-fit base and a Y-shaped connector that lets you feed power from the middle of a run, which helps on rooflines with several ridges. It can be cut and extended. Govee says it does not work with parts from the older Pro.

Pros

  • IP68 lights and IP67 control box
  • Widest white range here, shared with Prism (1000K–10000K)
  • Center-feed power option for complex rooflines
  • Matter, Alexa and Google Assistant

Cons

  • Fewer lights per foot than the older Pro (84 vs 120 per 200 ft)
  • Not compatible with older Govee Pro parts
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 200 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Most color zones per light

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism

Prism puts three color zones in each light head, so a single light can show a gradient instead of one color. It shares the 1000K–10000K white range of the 2 Pro, and the lights are rated IP68.

Unlike the older Pro, the adapter is rated for outdoor use, but Govee still requires a covered Class A GFCI outlet with a weatherproof enclosure. It mounts with adhesive plus pre-drilled screw holes and can be cut, spliced and extended.

Pros

  • Three color zones per light
  • IP68 lights and an outdoor-rated adapter
  • Matter, Alexa and Google Assistant

Cons

  • Highest maker price of the Govee range
  • Govee lists 60 lm per light on Amazon but 40 lm in its own comparison
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 200 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Previous Govee flagship, cuttable

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro

The Pro is the previous Govee flagship, and Amazon now shows a banner pointing to the 2 Pro. It has 120 lights per 200 ft, and each light does color plus 2700K–6500K white at up to 50 lumens, the brightest per-light figure in the Govee range.

The catch is power: the adapter is rated for indoor use only. Runs past 150 ft need a Govee driver module, the total may not exceed 200 ft, and any cut has to be rejoined with Govee's own waterproof connectors.

Pros

  • Up to 50 lm per light, brightest in the Govee range
  • Matter, Alexa and Google Assistant
  • Cuttable and extendable

Cons

  • Power adapter is for indoor use only
  • Superseded by the 2 Pro
  • Driver module needed past 150 ft
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 200 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Lowest Govee price per foot

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 is the entry model of the current range. It cannot be cut: you lay out up to nine fixed segments and up to four extension cables (two 12 ft, two 4 ft), so it suits simple, straight rooflines best.

The lights are IP67 and the control box IP65, and Govee requires a covered Class A GFCI outlet with a weatherproof enclosure. Govee's own page says it supports Matter, but the Amazon listing only mentions Alexa and Google Assistant. Govee warns against mixing it with the first-generation lights (H705A/B/C).

Pros

  • Lowest maker price per foot in the Govee range
  • IP67 lights
  • Simple segment layout, no cutting

Cons

  • Cannot be cut to length
  • Matter support is not stated on the Amazon listing
  • Does not mix with first-generation Govee lights
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 100 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Best for eufy camera owners

eufy Permanent Outdoor Lights E22

Each E22 light combines RGB with separate warm and cool white LEDs, at up to 90 lumens, the brightest per-light figure among the kits here. White runs from 1500K to 9000K.

Its distinguishing feature is WonderLink: the lights can react with a chosen light theme when a eufy camera detects a person. The power adapter is rated IP67, while the lights and controller are IP65. It mounts with adhesive tape plus a screw hole, and the system takes up to nine strings and two extension cables.

Pros

  • Up to 90 lm per light, separate warm and cool white LEDs
  • Links with eufy cameras
  • IP67-rated adapter

Cons

  • No Matter support stated
  • Lights rated IP65, lower than most kits here
  • Warranty term not stated by eufy
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 100 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Built-in motion radar

eufy Permanent Outdoor Lights S4

The S4 has 144 lights per 200 ft at 14.5 in spacing, tied with Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 for the most lights per foot here. It adds a radar sensor with 120° and 12 m coverage, so lighting effects can follow movement or flash as a warning.

Unlike the E22 it supports Matter, which brings Apple Home as well as Google and Alexa. It can also be triggered by eufy cameras, doorbells and smart locks. eufy says it is not compatible with E22 lights or extension cables.

Pros

  • Tied for the most lights per foot (14.5 in spacing)
  • Built-in radar motion detection
  • Matter, including Apple Home

Cons

  • Not compatible with E22 parts
  • Warranty term not stated by eufy
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 200 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Matter with a 2-year warranty

Nanoleaf Matter Permanent Outdoor Lights

Nanoleaf builds the system from 16 ft strings of light pucks, each with three warm white, three cool white and one RGB LED, at 50 lumens. One controller handles up to 147 ft.

It works over Matter with Apple Home, Google, Alexa and SmartThings, through the Nanoleaf controller over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Wire covers are included, which saves a step on the install.

Pros

  • Matter with Apple Home, Alexa, Google and SmartThings
  • Separate warm and cool white LEDs in each puck
  • Wire covers included

Cons

  • Highest maker price per foot of the kits we could price
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 98 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Best for Philips Hue homes

Philips Hue Festavia Permanent Outdoor Lights

Festavia is the permanent version of Philips Hue's string lights. It needs a Hue Bridge outdoors, which also means it joins the rest of a Hue setup: scenes, automations and Hue Secure alarms.

The 90 ft kit has 48 lights at 55 lumens each. Philips Hue's own page and the Amazon listing disagree on the weather rating (IP65 versus IP67).

Pros

  • Works with the rest of a Philips Hue system
  • Can flash as part of Hue Secure alarms
  • Adhesive tape or screws

Cons

  • Hue Bridge required
  • Conflicting IP ratings between sources
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 90 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Lowest maker price per foot

LIFX Everyday Permanent Outdoor Lights

LIFX Everyday is a cut-to-fit 200 ft strip with color and warm-to-cool white, up to 6,000 lumens in total. At $250 for 200 ft on LIFX's own store it is by far the cheapest per foot of the kits we could price.

It works with Matter, Alexa, Google and Apple Home over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi with no hub. LIFX rates it IP65. When we checked, the Amazon listing showed limited stock.

Pros

  • $1.25 per foot on the maker's store
  • Matter, including Apple Home, with no hub
  • Cut to fit

Cons

  • IP65, lower than most kits here
  • Light count and warranty not stated
  • Limited Amazon stock when checked
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 200 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Detachable for HOA rules

Lumary Permanent Outdoor Lights Max

Lumary's Max uses a removable base: the lights unclip from the mount after the holidays, which Lumary pitches at HOA rules. The base uses 3M adhesive with screw reinforcement.

The lights are RGBAICW, IP67-rated, and controlled through the Lumary app on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, by Alexa or Google, from the control box, or with a remote that takes two AAA batteries (not included). Extension options are limited, and Lumary warns not to link two sets on one adapter.

Pros

  • Lights detach from the base for seasonal storage
  • IP67 lights
  • App, voice and remote control

Cons

  • Limited extension options
  • No Matter support stated
  • Warranty term not stated
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 53 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.

Brackets and VHB tape included

Enbrighten Eternity Permanent Outdoor Lights

Enbrighten Eternity ships as 16.5 ft strands that snap into brackets, with 3M VHB tape, screws, cord clips and the power supply in the box. Strands link up to 200 ft or can be cut.

It is controlled through the Enbrighten app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and the listing states ETL and NEC compliance. It gives no IP rating and does not mention voice assistants or Matter.

Pros

  • Complete mounting kit in the box
  • ETL and NEC compliance stated
  • Link up to 200 ft or cut

Cons

  • No IP rating published
  • No voice assistant or Matter support stated
  • Warranty term not stated
Check Price on AmazonLink goes to the 100 ft listing; other lengths are on the same page.
Ranch house on a snowy night with red and green permanent lights along the roofline
The same kind of lights set to holiday colors.

How to Choose

1. Start with where the power goes

This decides more than any spec. The Govee Pro's adapter is rated for indoor use only. Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 and Prism require a covered Class A GFCI outlet with a weatherproof enclosure. eufy's E22 adapter is rated IP67. If you have no outlet near the roofline, budget for an electrician or route the cable to an indoor outlet in the attic or garage.

2. Match your smart home

Matter kits (Govee 2 Pro, Prism and Pro, eufy S4, Nanoleaf, LIFX) work with Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa alike. Philips Hue Festavia needs a Hue Bridge but then joins your Hue scenes and alarms. eufy E22 skips Matter but links with eufy cameras.

3. Decide how much white light matters

If the lights will be on every night, not just in December, look at the white range and whether white has its own LEDs. eufy, Nanoleaf and Govee's Pro, 2 Pro and Prism (RGBWWIC) have dedicated warm and cool white, and the Govee 2 Pro and Prism reach from 1000K to 10000K.

4. Check cutting and extension limits

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 cannot be cut at all. The Govee Pro tops out at 200 ft and needs a driver module past 150 ft. Lumary's 158 ft kit cannot be extended. Measure the roofline first, and do not mix generations: Govee and eufy both warn that their older and newer lights are not compatible.

What We Could Not Verify

  • Warranty terms for eufy E22 and S4, Lumary, Enbrighten and LIFX Everyday are not stated on the pages we checked.
  • Weather ratings: Enbrighten, JellyFish and Trimlight publish no IP rating. Philips Hue lists IP65 for Festavia on its own site; the Amazon listing says IP67.
  • Govee Prism brightness: the Amazon listing says up to 60 lm per light, Govee's own comparison says 40 lm.
  • Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 and Matter: Govee's site says it is supported, the Amazon listing does not mention it.
  • LIFX Everyday light count is not stated, only the 6,000 lm total.
  • Maker prices are given for one length per kit; other lengths cost a different amount per foot. eufy S4 and Lumary have no maker price in our table.
  • Long-term durability: lifespans and weather ratings are the manufacturers' figures, not our measurements.

Looking for other outdoor lights? See our smart outdoor lighting guide.

How We Built This Comparison

Price per footis the maker's own store price for one kit length, divided by that length in feet. We use the maker's price rather than Amazon's because Amazon prices change daily and differ between sellers.

Specs(light count, lumens, white range, weather rating, smart home support, cutting and warranty) come from the maker's product, FAQ and warranty pages and from the product's Amazon listing. Where the two disagree, we list the maker's figure and note the conflict under What We Could Not Verify.

Pro system prices are the ranges each company publishes on its own site. They are not dealer quotes.

Updates: we recheck maker prices monthly from October to December and update the date at the top of the page. The figures on this page were checked on October 3, 2026.

Using this data: you are welcome to quote the tables or the price-per-foot chart in an article, forum post or customer handout. Please link to this page so readers can see the current figures and the date they were checked.